RuPay Card Issuing Banks, Documents Required

RuPay Card Issuing Banks

RuPay card is India’s first domestic debit/credit card launched in the March 2012. The main objective of this card was to reduce transaction charges and processing fees charged by international dominant market players viz. Mastercard, Visa and others. As of now RuPay debit card can be used for online shopping, utility bill payment etc within India only. Read more on this here.

Also check out the difference between RuPay and other International cards.

So how to apply for RuPay Card and in which banks

Listed below are few of the major Indian public sector and private sector banks which are issuing RuPay cards:

Public sector banks:

State bank of India and it’s subsidaries
Bank of Baroda
Punjab National Bank
Vijaya Bank
Bank of India
Union Bank of India
Punjab and Sind Bank
Union Bank of India
United Bank of India
UCO Bank
Oriental Bank of Commerce
Indian Bank
Indian Overseas Bank
Dena Bank
Corporation Bank
Canara Bank
Bhartiya Mahila Bank
Bank of Maharashtra
Allahabad Bank
Andhra Bank
Syndicate Bank
Central Bank of India

Private banks:

Federal Bank
HDFC Bank – Check out offers by HDFC bank for RuPay Premium Debit card holders
Tamilnad Mercantile Bank
Axis Bank
Ratnakar Bank
IndusInd Bank
Kotak Mahindra Bank
Lakshmi Vilas Mittal Bank
South Indian Bank
Karur Vysya Bank

(**Source for the above list:**)


How existing account holders can get RuPay debit card from the same bank?

  • Existing account holder can fill an application form and get their existing debit card exchanged with RuPay card.
  • Any customer with savings or current account can avail this facility.

Latest news: On 24March2015, IRCTC-UBI launched RuPay Pre-Paid Debit card for online booking of railway tickets.

How can new customers get RuPay card

For this, person has to open either saving or current account in the above mentioned banks. While filling the application form, you need to specify that I want RuPay debit card. Other way to get RuPay card is to open bank account under Prime Minister Jan Dhan Yojana. You can also open bank account under PMJDY even with no valid documents.

Documents Required:

Person has to provide ID proof (Passport, Driver’s license, permanent account number card i.e PAN card), address proof(ration card, electricity/telephone/water bill which carries your own name) and 2 passport size photographs.

Latest update on RuPay – Virtual RuPay Card to be launched soon by NPCI.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.